Shorewomen Open Spring with Strong Showing at Murphy Cup

Shorewomen Open Spring with Strong Showing at Murphy Cup

First Varsity Eight Makes DI Petite Final, Second Varsity Eight Wins DII/III Race

CHERRY HILL, N.J. — The Washington College women's rowing team opened its spring regatta schedule today in challenging and windy conditions at the Murphy Cup on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J. The Shorewomen's first varsity eight competed "up," racing in the Division I varsity eight and advanced to the petite final, while the second varsity eight won the Division II/III varsity eight. 

Murphy Cup

How It Happened
- The first varsity eight placed fourth of five crews in its heat to advance to the petite final. The Shorewomen's time in the heat was 7:25.00. Temple won the heat in 6:38.62, Georgetown was second in 6:51.08, Lehigh third in 7:11.18, and Loyola fifth in 7:46.61.
- The second varsity eight narrowly edged out Division II Thomas Jefferson to win the Division II/III varsity eight. The Shorewomen finished in 7:55.70, while Thomas Jefferson finished second in 7:55.78. Bryn Mawr's first varsity eight was third in 7:58.95, Cabrini was fourth in 8:56.43, and Bryn Mawr's second varsity eight placed fifth in 8:58.67.
- In the petite final of the Division I varsity eight, the Shorewomen's first varsity eight was third in 7:22.34. Thomas Jefferson won the race in 7:11.91, followed by Colgate in second in 7:16.45. Duquesne was fourth in 7:32.60. 

Shorewomen Boat Lineups
First Varsity Eight: Olivia Robb (coxswain), Erika Reynolds (stroke), Kelin McCloskey (seven), Gabrielle Francis (six), Breanna Lanphear (five), Lizzie Bienert (four), Emma Hogan (three), Leslie Collins (two), Karis Marano (bow)
Second Varsity Eight: Emily Booth (coxswain), Caroline Jackson (stroke), Annie Krysztofiak (seven), MB Spargo (six), Tegan McBride (five), Analiese Bush (four), Agnes Anderson (three), Ana Gansz (two), Kitri Post (bow)

Up Next
3/30 host Washington College Invitational