Shorewomen Eights Win Grand, Petite Finals of DII/III Event at Murphy Cup

Shorewomen Eights Win Grand, Petite Finals of DII/III Event at Murphy Cup

First Varsity Eight Wins Grand Final, Second Varsity Eight Takes Petite Final

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. — The Washington College women's rowing team opened its spring racing season in impressive fashion today at the Murphy Cup on the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia. The Shorewomen's first and second varsity eights won the grand and petite finals, respectively, of the DII/III Women's Varsity eight. 

Murphy Cup

How It Happened
- The first varsity eight won its heat in 7:06.88. Wesleyan, whose top boat raced in the Division I event, finished second in 7:24.24. St. Mary's was third in 7:29.40 and Bryn Mawr's second varsity eight was fourth in 8:09.39.
- The second varsity eight was fourth in its heat in 7:30.51. Franklin & Marshall's first varsity eight was first in 7:14.21, Bates (who, like Wesleyan, had its top boat race in the Division I event) was second in 7:23.10. Franklin & Marshall's second varsity eight was third in 7:30.24.
- In the grand final, the Shorewomen's first varsity eight won in 6:49.38. Philadelphia U. (the lone Division II entrant) was second in 6:53.67, Bryn Mawr's first varsity eight third in 6:59.05, F&M's first varsity eight fourth in 7:02.09, Bates fifth in 7:10.77, and Wesleyan sixth in 7:16.85.
- In the petite final, the Shorewomen's second varsity eight posted a winning time of 7:11.56. St. Mary's was second in 7:17.12, Hamilton (whose top boat competed in the Division I event) third in 7:17.54, F&M's second varsity eight fourth in 7:25.00, Bryn Mawr's second varsity eight fifth in 7:49.97, and Cabrini sixth in 8:01.52. 

Shorewomen Boat Lineups
First Varsity Eight: Emily Booth (coxswain), Jules Shipps (stroke), Danielle Huston Hakey (seven), Jackie Creitz (six), Erika Reynolds (five), Maddie Morrissette (four), Diana Lucey (three), Karis Marano (two), Leslie Collins (bow).
Second Varsity Eight: Olivia Robb (coxswain), Kelin McCloskey (stroke), Emily Goldstein (seven), Megan Prokopius (six), Lizzie Bienert (five), Emily Van Driel (four), Brenna Kacar (three), Emma Hogan (two), Breanna Lanphear (bow).

Up Next for the Shorewomen
4/1 v. La Salle & St. Mary's (Md.)