#12 Shorewomen Finish Sixth at NCAA Division III Championship

First Varsity Eight Wins Petite Final

GOLD RIVER, Calif. -- The 12th-ranked Washington College women's rowing team finished sixth in the team standings at the NCAA Division III Championship regatta, held yesterday and today on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The Shorewomen's first varsity eight won its petite final.

The Shorewomen's first varsity eight finished fourth in its four-boat heat Friday morning in 7:05.303 to advance to the afternoon's repechage. Top-ranked Bates won the heat in 6:53.088, followed by fourth-ranked Hamilton in second in 6:56.238, and sixth-ranked Wellesley in third in 7:00.846. In the repechage, the Shorewomen's fourth-place time was 7:03.809, less than one and one-half seconds behind third-place and 13th-ranked Puget Sound, which finished in 7:02.441. Fifth-ranked Tufts won the repechage in 6:54.291, while Wellesley was second in 6:55.352.  The Shorewomen got even with Puget Sound by winning the two-boat petite final in 7:11.23 to the Loggers' time of 7:22.142. Washington finished seventh of eight boats overall in the first varsity eight.

Washington's second varsity eight was third in its three-boat heat Friday morning in 7:57.890 to advance to that afternoon's repechage. Third-ranked Trinity won the heat in 7:08.442, followed by second-ranked Williams in second in 7:11.985. The Shorewomen's fourth-place time in the second varsity eight repechage was 7:56.202. Wellesley won the repechage in 7:08.917, followed by Williams in second in 7:14.832 and Hamilton in third in 7:32.206. In Saturday's two-boat petite final, Hamilton won the race in 7:42.24 to take fifth overall in the second varsity eight. The Shorewomen's time in the petite final was 7:57.26. 

Washington finished with 17 total points for its sixth-place finish in the team standings. Bates won its first NCAA Championship with 39 total points, taking second in the first varsity eight after winning the second varsity eight. Trinity, the 2014 National Champion, placed second in the team standings with 38 points, winning the first varsity eight and taking third in the second varsity eight. Wellesley was third with 31 points, Hamilton fourth with 28, and Williams fifth with 24. (The first varsity eights from Tufts and Puget Sound were selected to the championship as at-large eights and were not eligible for point scoring or the team championship.)  

Senior Christie Phebus (Trappe, Md./Easton) was the coxswain of the Shorewomen's first varsity eight. Senior Kelly Bird (Galloway, N.J./Absegami) sat stroke, freshman Jules Shipps (Baltimore, Md./Gunston School) was in the seven seat, senior Taira Sullivan (Stevensville, Md./Kent Island) sat in the six seat, senior Mickey Fili (Sparks, Md./Hereford) was in the five seat, sophomore Madeleine Morrissette (Arlington, Mass./Arlington) sat in the four seat, sophomore Jackie Creitz (Schnecksville, Pa./Parkland) was in the three seat, senior Ashley Myles (Chester Springs, Pa./Owen J. Roberts) sat in the two seat, and sophomore Hannah Sive (Glenville, N.Y./Niskayuna) was the bow.

Junior Jaclyn Gibbons (Hingham, Mass./Hingham) was the coxswain of the Shorewomen's second varsity eight. Junior Maggie Perry (Fort Collins, Colo./Poudre) sat stroke, senior Krystal Brostek (Galloway, N.J./Absegami) was in the seven seat, sophomore Danielle Huston Hakey (Waldorf, Md./Calverton School) sat in the six seat, sophomore Erin Coffman (Brigantine, N.J./Holy Spirit) was in the five seat, junior Michaela Martino (Lebanon, N.J./North Hunterdon) sat in the four seat, sophomore Megan Prokopius (Chesapeake, Va./Bishop Sullivan) was in the three seat for the heat before sophomore Annie Sniffen (Havertown, Pa./Lower Merion) took the seat for the repechage and petite final, sophomore Elizabeth Twigg (Crofton, Md./Arundel) sat in the two seat, and junior Jennie Knapp (Vineland, N.J./Our Lady of Mercy Academy) was the bow.

Washington's Phebus, Bird, Sullivan, Fili, Myles, and Brostek completed their careers as the most successful senior class in the team's history with three consecutive Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Championships and three consecutive trips to the NCAA Division III Championships.