Women's Rowing to Compete for NCAA Championship Friday and Saturday

Women's Rowing to Compete for NCAA Championship Friday and Saturday

GOLD RIVER, Calif. -- The 12th-ranked Washington College women's rowing team, champion of the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference, is set to compete at the NCAA Division III Rowing Championship Friday and Saturday at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif. 

Six teams (the Shorewomen are joined by top-ranked Bates, second-ranked Williams, third-ranked Trinity, fourth-ranked Hamilton, and sixth-ranked Wellesley in the field) will vie for the NCAA Division III Rowing Championship by competing in both the I Eight and II Eight events. Two additional schools (fifth-ranked Tufts and 13th-ranked Puget Sound) received at-large eight bids and will race in the I Eight only.

The I and II Eights will each conduct two heats (three boats in each heat in the II Eights, four in each heat in the I Eights) on Friday morning. The Shorewomen's first varsity eight will compete against Bates, Hamilton, and Wellesley in its heat at 11:50 a.m. Eastern (8:50 a.m. Pacific), while the second varsity eight will compete against Trinity and Williams in its heat at 11:40 a.m. Eastern (8:40 a.m. Pacific).

The top two boats in each heat of the I Eight and first-place boat of each heat of the II Eight will advance directly to their respective grand finals. The remaining four boats in each event will compete in repechage races on Friday afternoon at 6:30 p.m. Eastern (3:30 p.m. Pacific) and 6:40 p.m. Eastern (3:40 p.m. Pacific) for the II and I Eights, respectively. 

The top two boats from the repechage races will then advance to the grand finals. The remaining boats will race in the petite finals. All of the finals will be held on Saturday. The finals schedule is as follows:

1:50 p.m. Eastern (10:50 a.m. Pacific): II Eights Petite Final (places 5-6)
2:00 p.m. Eastern (11:00 a.m. Pacific): II Eights Grand Final (places 1-4)
2:10 p.m. Eastern (11:10 a.m. Pacific): I Eights Petite Final (places 7-8)
2:20 p.m. Eastern (11:20 a.m. Pacific): I Eights Grand Final (places 1-6)

The NCAA Division III Champion will be determined by a points system accounting for both the I and II Eights. The two at-large boats in the I Eight (Tufts and Puget Sound) are not eligible for points. The points system is as follows:

I Eights
1st Place - 30 points
2nd Place - 27
3rd Place - 24
4th Place - 21
5th Place - 18
6th Place - 15

II Eights
1st Place - 12 points
2nd Place - 10 
3rd Place - 8
4th Place - 6
5th Place - 4
6th Place - 2 

Links to pertinent information can be found below:

NCAA DIVISION III ROWING HOME PAGE

TICKETS 

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

VENUE INFORMATION

LIVE WEBCAST OF THE CHAMPIONSHIPS

LIVE RESULTS