Shorewomen Win MARC Championship, Earn Automatic Berth to NCAA Championships

Shorewomen Win MARC Championship, Earn Automatic Berth to NCAA Championships

Shorewomen Win Varsity Eight, Take Second in Second Varsity Eight

LEWISBERRY, PA -- The 10th-ranked Washington College women's rowing team won its third Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Championship in five years and secured the first automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships in the conference's history by finishing first in the overall point standings at today's MARC Championships at Gifford Pinchot State Park in Lewisberry, PA.

The overall points champion was determined by the results of the varsity eight and second varsity eight. Washington won the grand final of the first varsity eight in 6:42.0. Fourteenth-ranked Marietta was second in 6:48.1, Franklin & Marshall third in 7:00.8, Bryn Mawr fourth in 7:06.8, Mary Washington fifth in 7:26.8, and Rutgers-Camden sixth in 7:48.8. Earlier in the day, the first varsity eight won its four-boat heat in 7:15.9 to advance to the final. Mary Washington was second in the heat in 7:24.1, Bryn Mawr third in 7:39.3, and Richard Stockton fourth in 8:18.3

The second varsity eight placed second of four boats in 7:14.7. Marietta won the race in 7:08.5, while Franklin & Marshall was third in 7:38.8 and Mary Washington was fourth in 8:29.3.

The Shorewomen also competed in the novice four at the regatta, finishing fourth in the final in 8:42.7. The College of New Jersey was first in 8:11.6, St. Mary's second in 8:28.9, Bryn Mawr third in 8:35.6, Mary Washington fifth in 8:56.7, and Richard Stockton sixth in 9:03.0. The Shorewomen's novices were second in their heat in 8:25.8. St. Mary's won the heat in 8:24.2, Richard Stockton was third in 8:34.8, Scranton fourth in 9:19.1, and North Park fifth in 10:23.0.

Sophomore Christie Phebus (Trappe, MD/Easton) was the coxswain of the Shorewomen's first varsity eight. Sophomore Kelly Bird (Galloway, NJ/Absegami) sat stroke, senior Rachel Benders (Cleveland Heights, OH/Beaumont School) was in the seven seat, senior Kate Fiori (Boston, MA/Dana Hall School) was in the six seat, sophomore Mickey Fili (Sparks, MD/Hereford) was in the five seat, sophomore Taira Sullivan (Stevensville, MD/Kent Island) sat in the four seat, junior Valeria DiLisi (Moorestown, NJ/Moorestown) sat in the three seat, sophomore Ashley Myles (Chester Springs, PA/Owen J. Roberts) was in the two seat, and junior Ellie Hilton (Severna Park, MD/Severna Park) was the bow.

Junior Abigail Thomas (Hughesville, MD/Thomas Stone) was the coxswain of the Shorewomen's second varsity eight. Sophomore Krystal Brostek (Galloway, NJ/Absegami) sat stroke, junior Emily Sahadeo (College Park, MD/Elizabeth Seton) was in the seven seat, freshman Leslie Rothstein (Lower Merion, PA/Lower Meion) was in the six seat, senior Lauren Halla (Haddonfield, NJ/Haddonfield Memorial) sat in the five seat, freshman Giavonella Knapp (Vineland, NJ/Our Lady of Mercy Academy) was in the four seat, freshman Kayla Noll (Ocean City, NJ/Ocean City) sat in the three seat, freshman Maggie Perry (Fort Collins, CO/Poudre) was in the two seat, and junior Allie Everhart (New Market, MD/Linganore) was the bow.

Freshman Jaclyn Gibbons (Hingham, MA/Hingham) was the coxswain of the Shorewomen's novice four. Freshman Kelly Dobroski (West Brandywine, PA/Coatesville Area) sat stroke, freshman Michaela Martino (Lebanon, NJ/North Hunterdon) was in the three seat, freshman Katie Washart (Seaville, NJ/Ocean City) sat in the two seat, and freshman Monica Benitez (Nutley, NJ/Nutley) was the bow.

The NCAA Division III Championships will be held May 31st and June 1st at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. This will be the Shorewomen's first full-team (two eights) bid to the NCAA Championships. Their first varsity eight received an "at-large" boat bid in 2008 and again in 2009. 

The Shorewomen return to action May 12th at the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championships.