Shorewomen Win Division II/III Varsity Eight at Murphy Cup

Shorewomen Win Division II/III Varsity Eight at Murphy Cup

PHILADELPHIA, PA -- The Washington College first varsity eight won the Division II/III varsity eight event at the Murphy Cup today in Philadelphia. 

The Shorewomen won their heat in 7:07.31 to advance to the final. Fellow Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference boats Bryn Mawr (7:17.76), Franklin & Marshall "A" (7:21.51), Richard Stockton (8:14.35), and Franklin & Marshall "C" (8:50.09) finished second through fifth, respectively in the heat. 

In the final, the Shorewomen finished in 7:08.72, winning the race by nearly 14 seconds. Philadelphia University was second in 7:22.53, Franklin & Marshall "A" was third in 7:22.63, Vassar was fourth in 7:27.37, Bryn Mawr was fifth in 7:31.07, and Dowling was sixth in 7:33.58.

The Shorewomen's second varsity eight was also scheduled to compete in the event, but was a late scratch.

Junior Kelsie Jensen (Mays Landing, NJ/Oakcrest) was the coxswain of the Shorewomen's first varsity eight.  Junior Kendall Mulligan (Southbury, CT/Westover School) sat stroke, senior Sarah Strickland (Potomac, MD/Holton-Arms) was in the seven seat, freshman Valeria DiLisi (Moorestown, NJ/Moorestown) was in the six seat, sophomore Kate Fiori (Boston, MA/Dana Hall School) sat in the five seat, junior Jenna Moore (Catonsville, MD/Mount de Sales) was in the four seat, sophomore Lauren Halla (Haddonfield, NJ/Haddonfield Memorial) sat in the three seat, senior Catherine Black (Kimberton, PA/Academy of Notre Dame) sat in the two seat, and freshman Elizabeth Hilton (Severna Park, MD/Severna Park) was the bow.

The Shorewomen return to action one week from today with a home regatta against Philadelphia University.