WC Sailing 8th at America Trophy, Qualifies for ICSA National Semifinals

WC Sailing 8th at America Trophy, Qualifies for ICSA National Semifinals

Strong Sailing on Sunday Moves WC Up Three Spots on Second Day

ST. MARY'S CITY, MD -- The Washington College sailing team finished eighth of 18 schools at the America Trophy, the MAISA Co-Ed Dinghy Spring Championships, this weekend at St. Mary's College. The top-eight finish at the regatta qualified Washington for the ICSA Co-Ed Dinghy National Semifinals for the fourth year in a row. Washington was in 11th place after the first day of racing, but a strong performance on Sunday propelled the team into qualifying for nationals. 

Junior skipper Mildred Conroy (Newtown, MA/Tabor Academy) had an exceptional weekend in B Division, sailing with sophomore crew Matt Lawler (Alexandria, VA/Christchurch School), and freshman crew Sam Fitzgerald (Fairfield, CT/Greens Farms Academy) to finish sixth in the Division. Conroy skippered Washington to top-six finishes in 10 of the division's 17 races, including seven of the 10 Sunday races in the division.

Junior skipper Mike Whitford (Chicago, IL/Francis W. Parker School) sailed with senior crew Max Kurland (Sharon, CT/Hotchkiss School) and sophomore crew Sam Bedinger (Richmond, VA/St. Christopher's) to place 10th in A Division. After finishing in the top 10 in just two of the eight A Division races sailed on Saturday, Whitford drove Washington to seven top-10 finishes in nine races on Sunday. 

Third-ranked Georgetown won the America Trophy, followed by sixth-ranked St. Mary's in second and eighth-ranked Navy in third. Places four through seven went to 10th-ranked Hobart/William Smith, 14th-ranked Old Dominion, New York Maritime, and Cornell, respectively.  20th-ranked Merchant Marine finished 11th.

The Washington College sailing team returns to action next weekend at the Admiral's Cup, hosted by Merchant Marine. The ICSA Co-Ed Dinghy National Semifinals will be held April 30th and May 1st in Long Beach, CA. The University of Southern California will be the host.